• Kelly Geckler

Congratulations to the 2021 Brown Music Competition

Heritage Fund announces Columbus North High School senior Minjung Kim and Columbus East High School senior Reagan Lykins as the winners of the 2021 Brown Music Competition hosted virtually Saturday from First Christian Church.

Kim, playing violin, won the Betty F. Brown Awards for Instrumental Excellence, performing “Symphonie Espagnole” by Lalo. Lykins, a mezzo, won the Anna Newell Brown Awards for Vocal Excellence, singing “Spiagge Amate” by von Gluck and “Over the Land is April” by Quilter. Both students will receive a $3,500 scholarship award.

Four performers competed in the instrumental contest, and three performers participated in the vocal contest of this year’s competition, which was limited to high school seniors and livestreamed to judges.

Judges for the event were: Ms. Susan Chan, violist, New Century String Quartet, adjunct faculty, University of Indianapolis; Dr. Ray Kilburn, associate professor of music, piano, Ball State University; Ms. Lissa F. May, associate dean for instruction, professor of music education, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University; Ms. Mary Ann Hart, professor of voice, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University; Dr. Kerry Jennings, voice area coordinator/director of opera, associate professor of voice, DePauw University; and Mr. Thomas Studebaker, lecturer of voice, Central Michigan University.

The Betty F. Brown Awards for Instrumental Excellence was established by Mr. Brown in 1992 in memory of his wife, Betty. Mrs. Brown was a well-known and highly respected advocate and patron of the arts, both locally and statewide.

The Anna Newell Brown Awards for Vocal Excellence were established through the Heritage Fund in 1985 by Robert and Betty Brown to honor Mr. Brown's mother, Anna Newell Brown. She was a distinguished vocalist and contributed greatly to the cultural life of the Bartholomew County Community.

Robert N. Brown was the longtime chairman of Home News Enterprises, The Republic’s parent company. He also served as chairman of the Heritage Fund Board from 1980 to

1983, during which the foundation awarded its first grant – a $500 award for the Art in Public Places Program.

Both competitions are administered annually by Heritage Fund – The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County.

189 views0 comments