top of page
  • kmunn44

Congratulations to the 2022 Brown Music Competition Winners!

Heritage Fund announces high school seniors Matthew Liu and Andrei Minut as the winners of the 2022 Brown Music Competition hosted virtually Saturday from Columbus Indiana Philharmonic’s Helen Haddad Hall.

Liu, a student of Columbus North and piano instructor Irina Ter-Grigoryan, won the Betty F. Brown Awards for Instrumental Excellence, performing “Moonlight Sonata, 3rd Movement, Presto Agitato” by Beethoven.

Minut, a home-schooled baritone student of Camilla Gehring, won the Anna Newell Brown Awards for Vocal Excellence, singing “Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal” by Quilter and “Widmung” by Schumann. Both students will receive a $3,500 scholarship award.

Other senior award winners were:

• Saylor Lancaster, piano, $2,000

• Tiffany Fu, violin, $1,000

• Clara Halsey, piano, $500

• Sofia Martinez, mezzo, $1250

• Lillie Tickel, mezzo, $1250

• Anna Jackson, mezzo, $500

• Olivia Pittman, soprano, $500

Underclass award winners were:

• Sreepadaarchana Munjuluri, violin, $2,000

• Aislinn Tian, marimba, $600

• Darren Li, violin, $400

• Molly Hotek, soprano, $2,000

Judges for the event were: Ms. Susan Chan, violist, New Century String Quartet and Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, adjunct faculty, University of Indianapolis; Dr. Ray Kilburn, associate professor of music, piano, Ball State University; Ms. Lissa F. May, associate dean for instruction, professor of music education, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University; Ms. Mary Ann Hart, retired professor of voice, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University; Dr. Kerry Jennings, director of opera studies, California State University, Fullerton; and Mr. Thomas Studebaker, lecturer of voice, Central Michigan University.

The Betty F. Brown Awards for Instrumental Excellence was established by Mr. Brown in 1992 in memory of his wife, Betty. Mrs. Brown was a well-known and highly respected advocate and patron of the arts, both locally and statewide.

The Anna Newell Brown Awards for Vocal Excellence were established through the Heritage Fund in 1985 by Robert and Betty Brown to honor Mr. Brown's mother, Anna Newell Brown. She was a distinguished vocalist and contributed greatly to the cultural life of the Bartholomew County Community.

Robert N. Brown was the longtime chairman of Home News Enterprises, The Republic’s parent company. He also served as chairman of the Heritage Fund Board from 1980 to 1983, during which the foundation awarded its first grant – a $500 award for the Art in Public Places Program.

Both competitions are administered annually by Heritage Fund – The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County.

97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page